Oregon law requires that drivers involved in an accident file an accident report if the accident involves any of the following conditions:
- Damage to your vehicle is over $1,500
- Damage to any one person’s property is over $1,500
- Any vehicle involved in an accident is towed from the scene as a result of damages
- Injury (minor or major)
Drivers are required to file these reports within 72 hours of the accident. If the report cannot be filed within 72 hours, it must be submitted as soon as possible. Failure to report an accident to the DMV may result in suspension of driving privileges.
Out-of-state residents are required to file their own accident reports with their state’s DMV. Click here to download the Oregon Traffic Accident and Insurance Form.